Page 7 - SPBC-dec-2018
P. 7

-7-
        he hears your 4♣ control-bid, and will have nothing to contribute. He will bid 4♠ -
        he has no control in either red suit. Opener will pass 4♠.
        What if instead, responder held:
             ♠Q1092  ♥Q32   ♦AK64     ♣42  ?
               He would control-bid 4♦ and opener would know there are no suits off the
        first two tricks. Opener could then use Blackwood to make sure two aces weren’t
        missing.
        When is a new suit a control-bid?
        A good rule of thumb is: Below 3-of-your-major, there are no control-bids. Above
        3-of-your-major, once a fit has been found (a suit has been agreed), a new suit is
        a control-bid (ace, king, void, or singleton).

        Example of NOT a control-bid:
        1♠  2♠
        3♣*

        * Not a control-bid. This says nothing about the ace or king (nor length) in clubs.
        Most partnerships use it as some sort of “naturalish” game try. It is not a slam try.

        Example of a control-bid:
        1♥   3♥
        4♣*

               This shows a control in clubs and slam interest (don’t ever control bid without
        slam interest).
               Bid controls in order (whether first or second round). This is the so-called
        “Italian” method, which I highly recommend. Don’t be concerned that you would
        show a singleton or king before an ace or void - up the line (in order) is the key to
        making this work!
               The trump suit is not a suit in which you make a control bid (RKC will
        eventually be used to make sure you aren’t missing the ace-king of trumps).
                                        Never jump into a control bid!

















                                        NOW THERE ARE
                                                 5
                                        GREAT DECKS!!!




        To Table of Contents
   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12